Skip to content

What did I learn and what’s the future?

March 19, 2009
tags:

Now, today, it’s much better, because you can choose whether to be a Chinese Communist Party Member when working in CCTV or other 50 stations. And reporters can do some stories critical of the government now, such as this program show–Criticism of the law.

 

1231309557119_1231309557119_r2

 

And here is the latest example, Chinese Premier Wen’s speech in Cambridge last month, his speech was interrupted as a student throwing shoes to him, honestly, it wouldn’t be broadcasted if it happened five or ten years ago, because it’s not on the side of government. But this was shown on CCTV, and over one billion people were able to see it.

 

 

 

However, China has just one political party, so it’s impossible to be absolutely impartial, especially when reporting issues on Tibet or Taiwan, for instance.

 

 

 

 

I hope the impartiality of Chinese media will get better and better in the future.And CCTV now have over 10.000 media workers, including many reporters from different countries, if you have opportunity to come to China for reporting, I can be your free translator.  And I hope that there will be more opportunities for us to communicate with each other.^^

 

As my father said, we can always learn a lot from the people who have a different perspective from you. It’s true that I have learnt a lot from my presentation group and people around me this year. From Tom, Ali and Owen, I know of the media impartiality’s concept, reglulation, as well as  the difference between western and eastern countries,  teaching me how to be a world journalist.

 

Honesty, I’m not get used to debate during class, as we have a different teaching methed in Asian countries, and I was a flight attendant before, we did a lot of trainings about how to smile and never debate with passengers. So It’s a little difficult for me to change this. Although I worked in a TV station for some time, I’m too shy sometimes, and I can’t express my feeling very well.

 

Hope you can understand me and thank you very much for helping me sort out difficulties in  my presentation and study. I think I’m very lucky to meet you in Falmouth this year.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. paulknowles permalink
    March 20, 2009 11:07 AM

    Would you say that a country needs to have a culture of freedom of speech to have political free speech? What I mean is that is it enough to have laws which guarantee freedom of speech or does it also need to be part of the culture of the country? For example, in Asia, does “saving face” make it difficult to be critical of other people and of official institutions? I would be interested in your opinion Daphnie!

  2. heatherislacy permalink
    March 20, 2009 4:45 PM

    Wow Daphne… thanks for the insight. I think Chinese news coverage seems so foreign (no pun intended), but it’s really nice to get your viewpoint about not only the media coverage, but also the general state of mind and culture of not argue or going against the grain. Thanks for sharing!

  3. tomallan28 permalink*
    March 21, 2009 9:43 AM

    It was a pleasure Daphne…I think it’s really honest of you to write that you are not used to debate and discussion. Of course, we take this kind of thing for granted, and assume that it’s the natural way of doing things. It would be interesting to come to a Chinese newsroom and see what it was like. Maybe you can invite me once you are running CCTV!

    Best, Tom.

  4. huijunzheng permalink*
    March 22, 2009 3:24 AM

    Thank you,Tom.I will invite you if I get a job in CCTV,that’s my dream^^

Leave a Reply

