Skip to content

The impartiality on Tibet issue report

March 11, 2009

After watching the new of Lalai Lama on BBC yesterday, I had a deep thought about the it.

Dalai Lama at critical crossroads -BBC

First of all, I find it really different from the report of China.From  BBC,I think it in the attitude that China should protect Tibetan Culture and give them human right, but from Chinese media, it said Tibetan’s life is getting much better now and DaLai Lama is just the minority of Tibetan who want to indepent from China.Well, is it all impartial? I don’t know, as a Han Chinese, I have never been to Tibet , and it’s true only a few people can go there because its geography environment, even British and Chinese journalists who did the report on Tibet.

From BBC,Dalai Lama said that Chinese government want the Tibetan Culture to extinct, because Chinese authority seeking to change the ethnic mix of Tibet and erode Tibetan culture, language and religion with a massive influx of ethnic Han Chinese and a system of “patriotic re-education”.Possibly, some Tibetan people don’t want to learn Mandarin, they don’t accept Han Chinese Culture but there is not enough communication between Han Chinese and Tibetan people.

In China, there are fifty-six ethnic groups, but 90% of people are Han Chinese, Tibetan is just one of minorty groups, that’s why they usually be ignored by other people. At the same time, most journalists as well as government officers are Han Chinese, so there position is in the side of Han Chinese. Tibetan people are very poor because of geography enviroment, they can’t have export bussiness to develop economy and before Chinese government,Tibet was serf system,which was really scary.

 

And now Chinese government give them money so they can get education service free, and the government also sends lots of Han Chinese teachers there to teach them Mandarin.I think that’s why some people think Chinese government wants Tibetan culture to extinct.

Honestly, there is discrimination on minority ethnic people in China, because our Han Chinese always think we are the best in China. Han Chinese can get the best education and have good financial status in China,and as every minority has a completely different language from Mandarin, sometimes Han Chinese can’t even communicate with them.And it is true that minority ethnic are more difficult to find a good job.

In a word, I think the ethnic group and language difference are the fundamental reason that why it is difficult for Chinese media to be impatial on Tibet issue.And I will talk about the culture difference which results in partiality later.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2009 8:57 AM

    It’s an interesting point that most journalists and government officials subscribe to an ethnic group opposed to the Tibetans too. Same in the US with the journos voting Democrat perhaps..

  2. huijunzheng permalink*
    March 13, 2009 4:34 PM

    Thanks for comment,Owen. Yeah,I think media is all care their audience,that’s why sometimes the impartiality is impossible to get.

  3. Lindsey Cole permalink
    March 18, 2009 6:44 PM

    Daphne, how was the lead up to the Bejing Olympics covered with reference to Tibet? There were many protests from foreign activists globally and within China: the banner on the Great Wall of China reading “One World, One Dream, Free Tibet 2008” and the disruption of the Olympic torch being lit in Athens last March. Was this reported in China? And did it receive a fair and impartial delivery? Or was it muted?

  4. saulcambo08 permalink
    March 18, 2009 7:04 PM

    Hey Huijunzheng…
    This is a very interesting post you’ve done…it’s also a very interesting issue for me.
    I’ve had a long fascination with Tibet – basically from my love of the mountains, specifically the Himalayas and even more specifically, Mount Everest.
    I haven’t yet travelled there…I will do for sure. I’m passionate about high mountains. I have just about every book going on Everest. It’s impossible to love the mountain, to read those books, with out being touched by the Tibetan story. Historically, most Everest expeditions have approached the mountain from the south side (Nepal) because of the obvious difficulties in getting access into Tibet to approach the mountain from the north. Historically, the governing Chinese authorities have made it extremely difficult for Everest expeditions to access Tibet and on to Everest itself. Is this changing do you know? I have the impression that the Chinese authorities are relaxing the rules a little.
    This has led me to a very basic knowledge of the Tibetan story and Tibetan culture. It’d be interesting to hear more thoughts from you from the Chinese perspective. For example, I had no idea about the large numder of minorities in China and that Tibet was such a small one itself.
    Having said that, I’d need some persuading that any government, any regime is ever jusitfied in targetting minorities / cultires for what might politely be called “controlling” action. From my basic knowledge of Tibetan culture, the loss and destruction suffered seems tragic. Is there another view on this?

  5. huijunzheng permalink*
    March 19, 2009 7:53 PM

    Hi,Lindsey,

    Thank you for comment.Yeah,I heard that you said from media last year, it’s a big news at that time,and there are lots of details on the internet, but I did’t spend much time to look through it. And there were some protests on the disruption of the Olympic torch being lit in Athens in big cities and universities as well. My uncle, a professor in University of California, went to Germany from Ameria with many Chinese, because they wanted to protect the Olympic torch.

    For the banner on the Great Wall, as I lived in Beijing, I could see it, but I don’t think there are many protests within China like this, from my experience of living in Beijing.

    I have no right to decide whether it is impartial delivery, as I think I’m not fair,honestly,I’m partial to this topic, I think Olympic is just for fun to know friends from different countries, there is no reason to link it with political issues.

    And it’s really interesting to talk with you, and I can learn a lot from your perspective.

  6. huijunzheng permalink*
    March 19, 2009 8:21 PM

    Hi Saul,

    Thank you for comment, I think you have much more knowledge of Tibet than me. I have never been to countryside in China, and never been to Tibet,either.China is huge,and Tibet is a remote place for me.I think many journalists who do report on Tibet have never been to Tibet,even Tibet’s spiritual leader Dalai Lama haven’t been to Tibet for almost twenty years(political reason),that’s why I’m going to Tibet for my oversea project. I want to foster the communication between Han Chinese and Tibetan, and know what Tibet is really like.

    For Tibetan culture, I can know little about it from people around me in China, as it is minority and unpopular, and China has fifty six kinds of ethnic groups’ culture including Han Chinese culture.I was born and brought up in the big city, the people around me are very happy and rich, so I don’t know what’s the poor people’s life looks like in China, and Tibetan people are poor because they have no industry and no economic growth.

    Last week, I interviewed a British correspond who lived in China during 1970s and he told me that Han Chinese destroyed many Tibetan temples during Chinese Culture Revolution, he thought it’s an important reason for the poor relationship between Han Chinese and Tibetan. You can see the video of Culture Revolution in my post-Chinese media impartiality during 1960s-1980s, it shows how people destroyed culture at that time.

  7. huijunzheng permalink*
    March 19, 2009 10:47 PM

    Hi Lindsey,

    Sorry, I remeber the banner of “One world, One dream , Free Tibet” is not on Great Wall, it is outside the China Central TV station in Beijing,and there is a video about this

Leave a Reply

